Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



CATHAY MEDIA AND EDUCATION GROUP INC.

華夏視聽教育集團

(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability) (Stock code: 1981)

VOLUNTARY ANNOUNCEMENT -INCREASE IN SHAREHOLDING BY A CONTROLLING SHAREHOLDER

This announcement is made by Cathay Media and Education Group Inc (the "Company") on a voluntary basis.

The board (the "Board") of directors (the "Directors") of the Company hereby announces that, as informed by Mr. Pu Shulin ("Mr. Pu"), the chairperson, an executive Director and a controlling shareholder of the Company, Mr. Pu through his controlled entity purchased an aggregate of 500,000 ordinary shares (the "Shares") of the Company on the market on 21 July 2021 at an average purchase price of approximately HK\$4.87 per Share. Immediately following the above acquisition of Shares, Mr. Pu is deemed to increase his interest in Shares from 1,158,100,000 Shares to 1,158,600,000 Shares within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong) which represents an increase from approximately 69.76% to approximately 69.79% of the total issued share capital of the Company as at the date of this announcement.

Based on the information available to the Company and to the best knowledge of the Board after making all reasonable enquiries, the Company has maintained sufficient public float of the issued Shares as required under the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited following the above acquisition and as at the date of this announcement.

> By order of the Board Cathay Media and Education Group Inc. Pu Shulin

Chairperson and Executive Director

China, 21 July 2021

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors are Mr. Pu Shulin, Mr. Sun Haitao, Mr. Wu Ye and Mr. Yan Xiang, and the independent non-executive Directors are Mr. Zhang Jizhong, Mr. Lee Cheuk Yin Dannis and Mr. Huang Yu.